What inspires you to give?

With the rash of ice bucket challenge films being made across the global by the great and the good I started to think about would my response be, if I were to be nominated…

Ice_tray-challenge_Anna_B_Sexton

Creatively accepting the dare to be part of the Ice Bucket Challenge…

Giving to any cause for me comes from the heart, a want to give back to a charity I believe does good work in a sector of society that needs support i.e. homelessness, housing, overseas aid

Or to causes friends inspire me to find out more about through their personal connections i.e. Harrison’s Fund or those who I deem ‘crazy’ enough to run a marathon for 

So mine time did come and I was called out to do my challenge, it even had a time limit on, which I missed by a day…

And that’s ok as the dare was more than just to fill up a bucket of water with ice and throw it over my head on film… it was an invite to be true to myself and consider one more time what and whom would I want to give my money to and how would I respond given wasting water is not a cool thing to do in my world.

My response was based on being a fundraiser for over 15 years in different guises with the belief that giving needs to be through free choice not through feeling awkward, pressured to conform or being accepted and fit in. 

My hope is my version of the ice bucket, well ice tray challenge, is a truer reflection of the creative individual I am who through free choice gives creatively either because I have so much more than enough in my life to share around and/or sometimes it’s worth not having in my more than abundant life so others I may never know can benefit from clean water, a roof over their head, a friendly face and hot food…

What inspires you to give? Have you been nominated? If yes, what was your response?

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

